2nd Sunday OTC

 

Is 62:1-5       I Cor 12:4-11           Jn 2:1-11

A man who had been a husband for ten years was consulting a marriage counselor. “When I was first married I was very happy. When I came home from a hard day at the shop, my little dog would race around barking and my wife would bring me my slippers with a heart-warming smile. Now after all these years everything is changed. Now when I come home, my dog brings me my slippers and my wife barks at me.” “I don’t know what you are complaining about,” said the counselor. “You are still getting the same service.”

Dear friends! If you want to have a peaceful happy married life I encourage you to make sure you have truly invited Christ into your homes and into your relationships.

A few years back I read the story about a couple who bought a new home and spent a lot of money on interior decoration. The wife, who wrote the article, had a husband who wanted to hang a large picture of the Sacred Heart in a prominent place in their living room and the lady objected. It did not fit with the décor of their new home. But being a religious person, she gave in to his wishes and hung the picture. In her article she told about a few incidents that happened because the picture was there. One visitor, who kept glancing at the picture, eventually, commented that “Jesus doesn’t look at you, he looks right through you.” Another friend commended, “I always feel so peaceful in your home.” She said one of the most striking things she noticed was that inevitably the conversation with friends and relatives was drawn to a higher plane. She felt overall the picture had a good effect on their family. Her article concluded with the statement: “This much I know, when you invite Jesus into your lives, into your hearts and into your home, you are never the same again”.

I’m sure the couple in today’s gospel would agree. Wedding receptions were major celebrations in the culture and time of Jesus. They went on for several days and planning for one would have been difficult, but running out of wine would have been a long remembered embarrassment for the bride and groom. So Jesus came to their rescue, with a little prompting from his mother. And he rescued them big time.

There are so many examples in the gospel how lives changed for so many people significantly for the better by inviting Jesus into their home. Peter brought Jesus to his home and Jesus healed his mother-in-law. A little girl died who was the daughter of a synagogue official named Jairus. Jairus went to find Jesus and Jesus came to his home and raised his daughter to life. He healed a man of dropsy one evening while having dinner at the home of a leading Pharisee. He became good friends with Martha, Mary and Lazarus and visited them when he came to Jerusalem. When Lazarus died Jesus brought him back to life. This is not to mention how people’s lives were changed in other ways because they opened their doors to Jesus.

When Jesus sent his disciples out he always told them to say “Peace to this house” whenever they entered a house. It is his desire to bring peace wherever he goes. In the book of Revelation Jesus makes this promise to us: “Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, (then) I will enter his house and dine with him, and he with me.” He will not invade our space. He wants to be invited in.

I always have major concerns about couples who call up and want to have their marriage at St. Joseph, but they’ve not been going to Church. They are missing the essential ingredient for a loving and successful life ahead. First thing I tell them to become serious about their faith and start practicing it.

St. John tells us today this was the first of Jesus’ signs. As a sign it shows Jesus’ high regard for marriage. But it shows much more. It tells us Jesus was interested in more than just keeping the party going, that he came to bring abundant blessings to those who believe in him. Today he works greater miracle for us by changing bread and wine into his own body and blood. May we be filled with his love as we receive the food and drink he gives us.  

I request your special prayers coming Tuesday. January 22nd, marks the observance of the 40th anniversary of the Roe v. Wade Supreme Court decision which legalized abortion in our country. That day,  is designated in all Dioceses in the United States as a Day of Prayer for the Legal Protection of Unborn Children.

